Support FilmScene

An essential part of the Iowa City arts community

For over a century, film had a home in downtown Iowa City. But in 2007, the last remaining downtown cinema closed its doors. Determined to bring the film arts back to our community, Andy Brodie and Andrew Sherburne co-founded FilmScene in 2011 as a mission-driven 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

A dedicated group of Iowa City-area community members and donors joined together to raise over $175,000 and FilmScene’s Scene 1 location opened up on the Ped Mall in November 2013. Since that day, FilmScene has established outreach programs, local filmmaker showcases, community partnership opportunities, educational events, family and children’s programming…and has screened movies every single day since day one.

As a nonprofit center, ticket sales cover only a portion of our costs. Our daily and annual operations depend on gifts from people like you. Should you choose, your gift helps FilmScene build a lasting cinema community in Iowa City through film programming, outreach and education, filmmaker support, and more.

In short order, FilmScene’s cinema community has even drawn jealousy from the likes of The Los Angeles Times, who lamented in 2015, “must we also be outdone by Iowa City?”

Become a Creator, a Screen Legend, a member, contribute to our endowment, or donate what you can every time you purchase a ticket online, and help us continue to make a scene. See you at the movies!


There are several charitable giving opportunities for individuals, organizations, local businesses, and corporations to help FilmScene continue to grow.

For questions on stock transfer and other creative giving, contact executive director Andrew Sherburne

Donations can also be mailed to FilmScene at:

118 E. College St. Suite 101
Iowa City, IA 52240

Visionary Supporters

Every year, at our annual Eye Opener gala, FilmScene recognizes our most outstanding supporters for their time and financial contributions to helping us pursue our mission. Thank you to our visionary supporters.

2019 - moengroup
2018 - Michelle Galvin & Brian Mildenstein
2017 - Evan and Kressa Evans
2016 - Adam and Brigette Ingersoll
2015 - Karen Chappell and Evan Evans
2014 - Scott and Diana Duncan